Category: Sports
18 Holes with Bing: Golf, Life, and Lessons from Dad – $1.99 0 comments

In this love letter to his father, former professional golfer Nathaniel Crosby shares memories of Bing Crosby on the golf course, and the lessons he taught him about the game and about life. With a Foreword by Jack Nicklaus.
In 18 Holes with Bing, Nathaniel introduces us to the Bing Crosby he and his family knew—not the beloved singer who played golf, but a golfer who sang to pay his country club dues. Nathaniel shares exclusive stories about this American icon golfing, working, and playing with some of the most famous people in history—royalty, titans of industry, stars of stage and screen, and champions of the green.
Full of anecdotes, vignettes, and recollections of Bing’s time on the course, the tournaments he created and later sponsored, and the constant encouragement he showed his son, 18 Holes with Bing honors this celebrated golfer, entertainer, and father, and illuminates his life as never before. Buy this book today for $1.99.
Click here to purchase 18 Holes with Bing

Read More..
Hawke – Carolina Cold Fury Hockey series – Sports romance – $1.99 0 comments

The Carolina Cold Fury hockey series continues as the team’s most notorious party animal gets blindsided by the one that got away.
Off the ice, elite defenseman Hawke Therrien enjoys his fair share of booze and good times. And why shouldn’t he? He’s worked his way up from the minor leagues and made himself a star. The only thing Hawke misses from that life is the pierced, tattooed free spirit who broke his heart without so much as an explanation. She’s almost unrecognizable when she walks back into his life seven years later—except for the look in her eyes that feels like a punch to the gut.
Buy this sports-themed romance for only $1.99 today.
Click here to purchase Hawke

Read More..
Pin Action – Small-Time Gangsters, High-Stakes Gambling, and the Teenage Hustler Who Became a Bowling Champion – $1.99 0 comments

Most of us think of bowling as a “sport” in quotation marks, and bowling alleys are places with disco balls, matching shirts, and funny shoes. But in the 1960s, New York City was the center of “action bowling”, a form of high-stakes gambling in which bowlers—often teenagers—faced off for thousands of dollars every night. When money like that is changing hands, you can bet the pressure is on (and the balls are rigged), and losses come with dire consequences.
But for a few kids, the world of action bowling would turn out to be a ticket off the mean streets and onto the Professional Bowlers Association Tour. For Ernie Schlegel, it would be a chance to shed his hustler ways and become a bonafide champion.
For the more than 100 million bowlers worldwide and for fans of timeless sports histories, Pin Action captures the underbelly of 1960s and ’70s New York and tells the true story of how the most notorious action bowler of all time became a Hall of Famer. Buy this book for only $1.99 today.
Click here to purchase Pin Action

Read More..
Wild Pitches – Sports essays – Just 99 cents 0 comments

As a major and not-so-major league pitcher, Dirk Hayhurst has learned to master more than striking out batters. While waiting for his name to be called in the bullpen, he honed his gifts as a storyteller, one the New York Times calls the “best writer in a baseball uniform.”
In this often hilarious collection of adventures on and off the diamond, Dirk details the intricacies of pulling off an epic team prank, even if it’s at his own expense; the art of creating the perfect professional baseball nickname; his comically ineffective attempts at writing romance novels; and the bizarre tale in which a bear gets punched in the face (yes, really). No matter how wild his story, Dirk proves once again he knows that it’s all in the delivery.
Buy this book of sports essays today for 99 cents.
Click here to purchase Wild Pitches

Read More..
Silent No More: Victim 1’s Fight for Justice Against Jerry Sandusky – $1.99 0 comments

Victim 1, at fourteen years of age, spoke up against Jerry Sandusky in the Penn State scandal, and now for the first time tells his story.
In Silent No More, Aaron Fisher recounts his harrowing quest to bring Sandusky’s crimes to light—from the intense feelings of guilt that kept him from speaking up earlier and the fear he felt at accusing a man who was a pillar of the community and a hero to the largest alumni network in the world, to the infuriating delays in the arrest and conviction of his abuser.
Told in the honest and unforgettable voices of Aaron; his mother, Dawn; and his psychologist, Mike, this inspiring book completes Aaron’s transformation from a nameless casualty into a resounding voice for change. Buy this book today for $1.99.
Click here to purchase Silent No More

Read More..
The Ledge: An Inspirational Story of Friendship and Survival – $1.99 0 comments

In June 1992, best friends Jim Davidson and Mike Price stood atop Washington’s Mount Rainier, celebrating what they hoped would be the first of many milestones in their lives as passionate mountaineers. Then their triumph turned tragic when a cave-in plunged them deep inside a glacial crevasse—the pitch-black, ice-walled hell of every climber’s nightmares.
An avid adventurer since youth, Davidson was a seasoned climber at the time of the Rainier ascent. But the harrowing free fall left him challenged by nature’s grandeur at its most unforgiving. Trapped on a narrow frozen shelf, deep below daylight, he desperately battled crumbling ice, snow that threatened to bury him alive, and crippling fear of the inescapable chasm below—all the while struggling to save his fatally injured friend. Finally, alone, with little equipment and rapidly dwindling hope, he confronted a fateful choice: the certainty of a slow, lonely death or the near impossibility of an agonizing climb for life.
Buy this book today for only $1.99. Audiobook: $4.49.
Click here to purchase The Ledge

Read More..
Pinstripe Empire: The New York Yankees from Before the Babe to After the Boss – $1.99 0 comments

Is there a sports team more synonymous with winning than the New York Yankees? The team of Ruth, Gehrig, DiMaggio, Berra, Ford, Mantle, Jackson, Mattingly? Of Torre, Jeter, and Rivera? Of forty American League pennants, twenty-seven World Championships, and nearly forty Hall of Famers?
Like so many great American institutions, the Yankees began humbly, on the muddy, uneven grass of Hilltop Park. Eighteen years later the little second-class franchise won its first pennant. Today, the Yankees are worth more than a billion dollars.
With a wealth of photographs, this is a treasure trove for lovers of sports, the Yankees, New York history, and America’s game. Buy it today for only $1.99.
Click here to purchase Pinstripe Empire

Read More..
Quick picks: More than 30 books about running and runners – Just $1.99 each 0 comments

Rodale has slashed the price on more than 30 non-fiction books on the subject of running to just $1.99 each.
Buy runners’ memoirs; guidebooks for the beginning runner and the veteran marathoner; and healthcare for runners.
Click here to purchase More than 30 books about running

Read More..
The Pitcher – A mythic story about how a man and a boy meet in the crossroads of their life – $1.99 0 comments

A boy with a golden arm, but no money for lessons. A mother who wants to give her son his dream before she dies. A broken down World Series pitcher who cannot go on after the death of his wife. These are the elements of The Pitcher. A story of a man at the end of his dream and a boy whose dream is to make his high school baseball team.
In the tradition of The Natural and The Field of Dreams, this is a mythic story about how a man and a boy meet in the crossroads of their life and find a way to go on. You will laugh and you will cry as The Pitcher and Ricky prepare for the ultimate try out of life.
Buy this sports novel today for $1.99. Audiobook: $2.99.
Click here to purchase The Pitcher

Read More..
Stealing Second – Feeling the Heat #5 – Contemporary sports romance – Just 99 cents 0 comments

Katherine Whitton doesn’t purposely avoid men and relationships, but she doesn’t mind that side effect of immersing herself in her job with the San Francisco Blaze. Years ago she was betrayed by her one true love, and she’s never fully recovered, though she’s tried by building a new life in a city she loves.
It’s taken seventeen years for Tom Morgan to get over Katie—Katherine now. Sober now and faced with the incredible opportunity to manage the Blaze, he thinks he’ll finally be able to handle working with this beautiful woman without falling to pieces…as long as she doesn’t get too close.
Buy this sports romance for only 99 cents today.
Click here to purchase Stealing Second

Read More..
Next Page »