Category: Sports
Pinstripe Empire: The New York Yankees from Before the Babe to After the Boss – $1.99 0 comments

Is there a sports team more synonymous with winning than the New York Yankees? The team of Ruth, Gehrig, DiMaggio, Berra, Ford, Mantle, Jackson, Mattingly? Of Torre, Jeter, and Rivera? Of forty American League pennants, twenty-seven World Championships, and nearly forty Hall of Famers?
Like so many great American institutions, the Yankees began humbly, on the muddy, uneven grass of Hilltop Park. Eighteen years later the little second-class franchise won its first pennant. Today, the Yankees are worth more than a billion dollars.
With a wealth of photographs, this is a treasure trove for lovers of sports, the Yankees, New York history, and America’s game. Buy it today for only $1.99.
Click here to purchase Pinstripe Empire

Read More..
Quick picks: More than 30 books about running and runners – Just $1.99 each 0 comments

Rodale has slashed the price on more than 30 non-fiction books on the subject of running to just $1.99 each.
Buy runners’ memoirs; guidebooks for the beginning runner and the veteran marathoner; and healthcare for runners.
Click here to purchase More than 30 books about running

Read More..
The Pitcher – A mythic story about how a man and a boy meet in the crossroads of their life – $1.99 0 comments

A boy with a golden arm, but no money for lessons. A mother who wants to give her son his dream before she dies. A broken down World Series pitcher who cannot go on after the death of his wife. These are the elements of The Pitcher. A story of a man at the end of his dream and a boy whose dream is to make his high school baseball team.
In the tradition of The Natural and The Field of Dreams, this is a mythic story about how a man and a boy meet in the crossroads of their life and find a way to go on. You will laugh and you will cry as The Pitcher and Ricky prepare for the ultimate try out of life.
Buy this sports novel today for $1.99. Audiobook: $2.99.
Click here to purchase The Pitcher

Read More..
Stealing Second – Feeling the Heat #5 – Contemporary sports romance – Just 99 cents 0 comments

Katherine Whitton doesn’t purposely avoid men and relationships, but she doesn’t mind that side effect of immersing herself in her job with the San Francisco Blaze. Years ago she was betrayed by her one true love, and she’s never fully recovered, though she’s tried by building a new life in a city she loves.
It’s taken seventeen years for Tom Morgan to get over Katie—Katherine now. Sober now and faced with the incredible opportunity to manage the Blaze, he thinks he’ll finally be able to handle working with this beautiful woman without falling to pieces…as long as she doesn’t get too close.
Buy this sports romance for only 99 cents today.
Click here to purchase Stealing Second

Read More..
Rudy: My Story – Experience the heartache, triumph, and glory through Rudy’s own eyes – $1.99 0 comments

Rudy became the inspiration for millions when a Hollywood film depicting his journey as a Notre Dame football player became one of the most influential sports movies ever made. In Daniel “Rudy” Ruettiger’s only autobiography, go behind the scenes to experience the heartache, triumph, and glory through Rudy’s own eyes, and learn details of the ten years it took to get the movie made.
For the first time, the real Rudy shares his story of floundering through school with undiagnosed dyslexia and finding himself mixed up with a rough and rowdy crowd. “Football was my salvation in high school,” Rudy believes, and while he dreamed of playing for Notre Dame, he never believed he was smart enough to make it to the elite group of higher education.
A poignant and high-energy storyteller, Rudy details failures and pitfalls along the way. He explains the persistence and determination it took to get accepted to Notre Dame, to suit up and play for twenty-seven glorious seconds, and to see the dream of his movie become a reality.
Buy this inspirational autobiography today for $1.99.
Click here to purchase Rudy: My Story

Read More..
Darwin’s Ghosts: The Secret History of Evolution – $1.99 0 comments

Christmas, 1859. Just one month after the publication of On the Origin of Species, Charles Darwin received an unsettling letter. He had expected criticism. But this letter was different. It accused him of failing to acknowledge his predecessors, of taking credit for a theory that had already been discovered by others. Darwin realized that he had made an error in omitting from Origin of Species any mention of his intellectual forebears.
Yet when he tried to trace all of the natural philosophers who had laid the groundwork for his theory, he found that history had already forgotten many of them.
With each chapter focusing on an early evolutionary thinker, Darwin’s Ghosts is a fascinating account of a diverse group of individuals who, despite the very real dangers of challenging a system in which everything was presumed to have been created perfectly by God, felt compelled to understand where we came from. Ultimately, Stott demonstrates, ideas—including evolution itself—evolve just as animals and plants do. Darwin’s Ghosts presents a groundbreaking new theory of an idea that has changed our very understanding of who we are. Buy this book for $1.99 today.
Click here to purchase Darwin’s Ghosts

Read More..
Jackie Robinson: A Biography – A full-scale biography by Arnold Rampersad – $1.99 0 comments

The extraordinary life of Jackie Robinson is illuminated as never before in this full-scale biography by Arnold Rampersad, who was chosen by Jack’s widow, Rachel, to tell her husband’s story, and was given unprecedented access to his private papers.
Rampersad’s magnificent biography leaves us with an indelible image of a principled man who was passionate in his loyalties and opinions: a baseball player who could focus a crowd’s attention as no one before or since; an activist at the crossroads of his people’s struggle; a dedicated family man whose last years were plagued by illness and tragedy, and who died prematurely at fifty-two. He was a pathfinder, an American hero, and he now has the biography he deserves. Buy it today for $1.99.
Click here to purchase Jackie Robinson: A Biography

Read More..
Beneath the Surface: My Story by Michael Phelps – $1.99 0 comments

In this candid memoir, Phelps talks openly about his battle with attention deficit disorder, the trauma of his parents’ divorce, and the challenges that come with being thrust into the limelight. Readers worldwide will relive all the heart-stopping glory as Phelps completes his journey from the youngest man to ever set a world swimming record in 2001, to an Olympic powerhouse in 2008, and the most decorated Olympian in 2012. Athletes and fans alike will be fascinated by insights into Phelps’ training, mental preparation, and behind-the-scenes perspective on international athletic competitions.
A chronicle of Phelps’ evolution from awkward teenager to media-savvy superstar, Beneath the Surface is a must-read for any sports fan. Published 2012. Buy this book for $1.99 today. Audiobook: $3.49.
Click here to purchase Beneath the Surface

Read More..
Chalked Up: My Life in Gymnastics – An unforgettable coming-of-age story – $1.99 0 comments

Fanciful dreams of gold-medal glory led Jennifer Sey to the local gymnastics club in 1976. A natural aptitude and a willingness to endure punishing hard work took her to the elite ranks by the time she was eleven years old. Jennifer traveled the country and the world competing for the U.S. National team, but the higher she set her sights—the world championships, the 1988 Olympics—the more she began to ignore her physical and mental well-being.
Jennifer suffered devastating injuries, developed an eating disorder, and lived far from family and friends, all for the sake of winning. When her parents and coaches lost sight of her best interests, Jennifer had no choice but to redefine her path into adulthood. She had to save herself.
Chalked Up delivers an unforgettable coming-of-age story that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt not good enough and has finally come to accept who they were meant to be. Buy this book today for $1.99
Click here to purchase Chalked Up: My Life in Gymnastics

Read More..
Two quick picks: Romances for only 99 cents 0 comments

Ruthless (99 cents) After dinner with the most arrogant man in the world, Jessica Miller is shocked when her blind date tries to maul her in the parking lot. Enter “Zag”: the brooding, bruising alpha male who jumps off his motorcycle and teaches the jerk a lesson he won’t forget. After getting one taste of a bad boy who lives on the edge, Jessica’s hooked.
The Heat Is On (99 cents) When veteran catcher Connor Jackson gets traded to the New Jersey Sonics, he welcomes the opportunity to possibly cap his career with a World Series ring in his home state. But there’s another reason Connor is glad things have come full circle. In pursuit of hardball glory, he left behind his college sweetheart, the one girl he could never forget.

Read More..
Next Page »